Commission 02: Cross Transfer

WASTE .© Knut Skjærven

Second commission is ready.

Two brave people, and members on On Every Street, have been kind enough to volunteer for the coach test program. Test program means that a program is not yet finally fixed and that a general evaluation will be done at the end of the process.

The brave ones are Elisabeth Maurice, Paris and Stefanie LePape, New York. Both have stated their vision, their mentor and some of their favorites in a separate post on Street Photographer’s Toolbox.

Here is Elisabeth’s My Choices. Here is Stefanie’s My Choices.

BRIEF & COMMISSION

Even if this probably takes a lifetime to learn (for all of us) it very good to be able to identify situations where cross transfer can happen.

Cross Transfer means transfer of meaning from one (or more) object/subject to another (or more) object/subject. The meaning crosses over.

Many things can influence on such a cross transfer: signs in the shot, pictures in the shot, the title of the shot, the overall denotations and connotation of the shot. Others.

All of these are at work in the photograph titled Waste that you see above. The cross transfer indicated that the waste in the foreground crosses over to the black lady in the right side of the photograph suggesting that she is wasted too.

The commission is within one month to identify and make at least two photographs where a cross transfer is likely to happen. Done so you forward the images so that they can be loaded to this site

The commission should be handled within the vision stated, the mentor chosen and with reference to the favorites pointed to.

For Elisabeth that means a reference to Willy Ronis and for Stefanie  it will mean a reference to Vivian Maier.

How you handle this is entirely up to you. There are no right and no wrong solutions, but some solutions will probably be more convincing than others.

Who Can Participate?

This post is directed to Elisabeth and Stefanie, who have volunteered for the coach test program. They will load their photographic result to this site and take comments on their solutions. All are welcome to comment.

All others can participate in this commission, as well. Secretly and without anyone knowing. 

Success Criteria:

The success criteria for this commission is that

1) You learn to recognize the concept called Cross Transfer.

2) You shoot and post two images in the category Cross Transfer.

3) Cross Transfer has become part of your visual radar, or backbone knowledge, helping you to recognize cross transfer situations in the future.

Good luck with it.

Time Schedule: 

This commission will take a lifetime, but one month will do as well. Today is September 6, 2012.

Nota Bene:

This is the second commission in the drill process. You will get more commissions during this period. Commissions will overlap. You should not load old images from your portfolio. You should make new pictures.

Good luck with it.

© KNUT SKJÆRVEN. ALL RIGHT RESERVED: TEXT AND PICTURE.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Elisabeth on September 28, 2012 - 6:46 am

    Hi! I keep turning it into my mind, but need some advice here. I understood the concept you explained very well but I’m not sure how to get such a situation. Maybe I focus to much on one subject at a time and should widen the scope? I certainly lack references too. Would you be kind enough to share some more examples?

    • #2 by Knut Skjaerven on September 29, 2012 - 8:43 am

      I have seen your question. It is very good and relevant. I will answer very soon and I will make the answer a separate post. Stay tuned 🙂 Have a good Saturday, Elisabeth :-).

  2. #3 by Elisabeth on September 29, 2012 - 11:05 am

    Thanks so much for your answer! I was unsure I should ask before I posted :-). I’m eager to read your advice :-)))). Have great WE Knut 🙂

  3. #4 by 1000 Pixelated words on September 30, 2012 - 12:12 am

    @knut … I have uploaded several in response to this assignment. At least I think I have. Can u c them? They r on WordPress this account I write from.

    • #5 by Knut Skjaerven on September 30, 2012 - 8:15 am

      I haven’t seen any. You need to place the links here so I can find them. Have a very good day :-). And thanks for you enthusiasm.

  4. #6 by 1000 Pixelated words on September 30, 2012 - 8:45 pm

    • #7 by Knut Skjaerven on October 5, 2012 - 11:58 am

      Hi Stefanie

      Thanks for all the links on cross transfer. Could I persuade you to tell me in what way you see cross transfer in these shots? Did you, by the way, see that I just posted another article on the matter?

      Have a very good day.

  5. #8 by 1000 Pixelated words on September 30, 2012 - 8:45 pm

  6. #9 by 1000 Pixelated words on September 30, 2012 - 8:47 pm

  7. #10 by 1000 Pixelated words on September 30, 2012 - 8:48 pm

  8. #11 by 1000 Pixelated words on September 30, 2012 - 8:49 pm

  9. #12 by 1000 Pixelated words on September 30, 2012 - 8:50 pm

  10. #13 by 1000 Pixelated words on September 30, 2012 - 8:52 pm

  11. #14 by 1000 Pixelated words on September 30, 2012 - 8:53 pm

  12. #15 by Knut Skjaerven on October 5, 2012 - 7:32 am

    Yes, I am back. Sorry for the delay but I had a major launch of The Europeans that took most of my time. I will tend to your question first Elisabeth, but post my answer as a new post. Your question is very good and most relevant.

    Should be up later today.

  13. #16 by elisam75 on November 16, 2012 - 9:33 am

    Hi again !
    Let me have another try on this one: et me have another try:
    This one is simple i think (the add says “bye vans”): http://www.flickr.com/photos/85881234@N05/8164517779
    Do you think it appropriate for cross transfer?
    Thanks for your support,
    Have a good day!

    • #17 by Knut Skjaerven on November 16, 2012 - 10:02 am

      No. Who transfers what to whom or what? I don’t see the castle and I don’t see the car. Must be, imo, much more DISTINCT. This is more like a slice of life in ONE integrated milieu only :-).

      Best
      Knut

  14. #18 by Knut Skjaerven on November 16, 2012 - 10:00 am

    No. Who transfers what to whom or what :-)? I don’t see the castle and I don’t see the car.

    Best
    Knut

  15. #19 by elisam75 on November 16, 2012 - 10:05 am

    ok ok ok! I keep working :-)!!!!
    Thank you :-)!!!!!

  16. #22 by elisam75 on November 16, 2012 - 10:11 am

    Last try for today on this one 😉 : http://www.flickr.com/photos/85881234@N05/8190562414

  17. #23 by elisam75 on November 20, 2012 - 10:17 am

    Hi Knut,
    Would you consider this one as a potential for cross-transfer?
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/85881234@N05/
    Have a good day,
    Elisabeth

  18. #25 by Elisabeth on November 25, 2012 - 9:18 am

    Hi Knut,
    I will have another try for cross-transfer with this one: http://www.flickr.com/photos/85881234@N05/8216589108.
    Do you think it works?
    Have a good day.

    • #26 by Knut Skjaerven on November 25, 2012 - 9:56 pm

      Might work, yes. The idea is good. You are getting there :-). So the signs, the two of them, are the castle right?

  19. #27 by Elisabeth on November 27, 2012 - 6:45 am

    Thanks so much for your feedbacks! Need to work more on it!!! Hope it will come :-).
    You’re right there are 2 castles in the last one but the car was just on the side ;-)…
    I’ll try again.
    Thanks for your support!
    Have a good day!

  20. #28 by elisam75 on December 1, 2012 - 10:05 am

    Hi, I’m not giving up :-)!
    Here is a new try for cross-transfer. I called it the way to leadership : http://www.flickr.com/photos/85881234@N05/8233601587.
    crossing fingers :-),
    Have a good day,
    Elisabeth

  21. #29 by elisam75 on December 1, 2012 - 7:55 pm

    And what would you think of this one, “I need colors” : http://www.flickr.com/photos/85881234@N05/8235817542
    I think there we can see the castle and the car.
    Have a good evening,
    Elisabeth

  22. #31 by Elisabeth on December 13, 2012 - 8:31 pm

    Hello again :-)!
    I will have another try for this commission. I’m not giving up ;-).
    I know it might be considered as a gig but would you take it for Cross-transfer?
    I want your meal!!!!
    Cheers,
    Elisabeth

    • #32 by Knut Skjaerven on December 15, 2012 - 9:23 am

      Well, in principle you have got it. However, knowing you potential I am not that impressed by the photo as such :-).

  23. #33 by Elisabeth on December 15, 2012 - 5:35 pm

    Hi Knut!
    Many thanks for your answers!
    I’m glad the one with the painting could work :-)! I liked the contrast between the dark man and the rainbow painting. I think it could have been better but the light was hard to handle and I to be quick for he was on the go.
    For the one you’re right i’m not so happy with it (it was taken while drived) but still i’m glad i start to get the idea. With this session i really go step by a step. If you can see the castle and and the car in those two that’s a a very improvement for me and it makes happy :-)!!!!!
    So I will keep on working it but, still i’m very glad i start to get it ;-).
    Have a good evening,
    Cheers,
    Elisabeth

  24. #34 by elisam75 on December 19, 2012 - 7:36 pm

    Hello!
    Here I come again on this one :-)!!!!
    Quite hard to get opportunities lately but I got a few shots that migth work…. Wondering.
    They are all related to ads in the street i just realized.
    One that i find funny. I called it “come on babe” :http://www.flickr.com/photos/85881234@N05/8287616829.
    and to others that are rather sad, but that’s what i see inn the street too… :
    Psychadelic Party : http://www.flickr.com/photos/85881234@N05/8287722289
    Something to eat? : http://www.flickr.com/photos/85881234@N05/8287718105
    Eager to get your feedbacks.
    Have a good evening :-);
    Cheers,
    Elisabeth

    • #35 by Knut Skjaerven on December 23, 2012 - 11:41 am

      The second one is very good, indeed :-). So is the third. And c’mom babe, too.

      If any of them are cross transfers I have to spend more time on considering over Christmas. You are more setting up a visual dialog than anything else, which indeed is a great idea.

      You definitely are improving – fast.

      Would you say that they all could be gig’s? Think about it.

      Merry Christmas :-).

      • #36 by elisam75Wizard75 on December 25, 2012 - 6:08 pm

        Hello Knut!
        What a compliment! I feel so honoured and i’m red as an apple :-)))!
        You are definitily right when you talk about visual dialog in those shots, After all this time trying on this commission i think that is the way i best “made it mine”, felt or undertand it. I think that’s what i was refering to in the beginning when i was mentioning my communication classes with the concepts of emetor and receptor. That’s too complcated I know but if i managed to concretize that in those shots i’m really really happy!!!! Can’t that be considered as cross transfer? too complicated i know…
        I also completely agree about them being gigs. Come on babe is a really funny one i think with the biker’s buttom upwards and the second one can be a sad or rather ironical gig, but i thought a gig had to be funny. Maybe i’m mistaking here.
        Merry merry Christmas again,
        Cheers,
        Elisabeth

  25. #37 by elisam75 on December 23, 2012 - 10:45 am

    Hi Knut,
    I know it’s almost Christmas, but before having champagne I wished to share a new shot that I thought maybe would work for cross transfer.
    I see a castle and a car in it. But maybe i’m mistaking. So your advice would be great as always.
    I called it what you need is what you get: http://www.flickr.com/photos/85881234@N05/8299740124
    It could be also my first 2×2 of kind?
    Have a wonderful Christmas,
    Cheers,
    Elisabeth

    • #38 by Knut Skjaerven on December 23, 2012 - 11:39 am

      Great trial for two of kind. Even two plus two. Well done Elisabeth :-). Merry Christmas.

  26. #39 by elisam75Wizard75 on December 25, 2012 - 5:49 pm

    Wow!!!! Thanks so much!!!!!
    My first 2X2 of a kind!!!!! That is Christmas really :-)))!
    So happy!
    Have a very merry Christmas!!!!
    Elisabeth

  27. #40 by Elisabeth on January 7, 2013 - 5:56 pm

    Hi Knut,
    Here’s another try for this session… I know the castle is a bit far in the background but what do you think of it?
    I called it “youth in the bin” : http://www.flickr.com/photos/85881234@N05/8356077563
    Cheers,
    Elisabeth

    • #41 by Knut Skjaerven on January 7, 2013 - 6:11 pm

      Haha, and a very imaginative solution is it :-). As long as you don’t talk about me it is all right.

      Best
      Knut

      • #42 by elisam75 on January 7, 2013 - 6:36 pm

        Wouah! Wonderful! So happy you it made you laugh :-)! Thank so much! 🙂 That’s a good way to start the year 🙂 Cheers, Elisabeth

  28. #43 by Elisabeth on January 29, 2013 - 7:48 am

    Hi Knut,
    I think i finally got one that might be proper for cross-transfer. I hope so…
    I called it The portrait of Dorian Gray : http://www.flickr.com/photos/85881234@N05/8426302198.
    Do you think that works?
    Cheers,
    Elisabeth

    • #44 by Knut Skjaerven on January 29, 2013 - 1:52 pm

      I have seen it. It is just great. Congratulation. It must go to a new gallery :-).

  29. #45 by Elisabeth on January 29, 2013 - 3:57 pm

    Wow!!!! i might finally have got it ??!!! Thanks so much for you patience and your great teaching! This one is definitely dedicated to you!

Leave a Reply

