Schapiro’s Solution

Schapiro’s Solution.© Knut Skjærven.

I was lucky.

As I spent 10 days in Berlin in November I stumbled over the fact that Museum THE KENNEDYS reopened just as I was there. So I got an invitation. This is from the opening  day November 24, 2012.

Tell me: what type of shot would you say this was: a) a gig shot; b) cross transfer; c) new combinations; d) two of a kind, or what? If you feel like it, give it a go. Write you best guess as a comment to the post.

Good luck with it.

© KNUT SKJÆRVEN. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED: TEXT AND PICTURE.

November 25, 2012.

 

  1. #1 by achergui on November 30, 2012 - 7:04 pm

    It is not a gig shot neither two of a kind for me. My first guess would be new combinations and as far as I understood the concept, it could also be a cross transfer (but I didn’t fully get the car and the castle concept 🙂 )

    The first thing I thought when I saw your pictures few days ago was it it like this one : http://www.flickr.com/photos/achergui/8120507279/in/set-72157631687468096/lightbox/ ?

    But the answer is definitely NO 🙂

  2. #2 by elisam75 on November 30, 2012 - 8:10 pm

    I would say a new combination and a gig… Don’t know if i can propose two.. Not cross transfer is it??? 😉

  3. #3 by Knut Skjaerven on December 1, 2012 - 9:40 am

    Many thanks to both Elisabeth and Ahmed for having a go at this. Let me comment this way:

    1. The type of shot; gig, cross, two of a kind, others, are all analytical angles/tools with the purpose of sharpening the visual senses for how meaning can be build.

    Also to make you aware of, and in a position to use the tools when you are out there taking pictures.

    They are small steps along the way to make i t c h i n g images, as I call them.

    To me, this is an i t c h i n g image.

    2. There is no finale truth involved here, and in that way all that you have said are correct, but some aspects are more likely to be agreed on than others.

    3. The most obvious tool used in this shot is plane integration (no, I did not mention that in the options above because it would have been too obvious.)

    What I set out to do was i n t e g r a t i n g the two planes: the woman in one plane, and the picture on the wall in another plane. Look at the two heads overlapping.

    Let me add that this is a posed shot and not something that just happened, even if it might have. This shot, thus, is not a street shot as I would define it (the OES definition). Here that does not matter.

    4. In a more subtle way cross transfer is also working.

    In that respect it helps to know that this is shot in an exclusive gallery and that the frame in the background is a famous photograph made by photographer legend, Steve Schapiro. It shows Robert Kennedy from close behind addressing a crowd of students.

    This setting is what we in another context labelled as “the castle”.

    Having the lady positioned in the shot (she is the car) she takes on the connotations of exclusivity, importance and fame.

    She also, however, adds to it since she is highly stylized herself.

    5. What I also had in mind was the combinations of different forms: the squares of the picture on the wall and room contrasted with the curves of the female body.

    There were a lot of things present, that added up, potentially could make a compelling photograph.

    But, but: Some of you may argue that calculating a photograph like this breaks away from the spontaneity of creativity that we all are here for? I would say: No it does not. Having a head (thinking) does not exclude having feet (walking) or having a heart (feeling). They add up :-).

    The main point is that the more knowledge you have in your personal toolbox, the more opportunities you will be able to detect or recognise in your photography. To be able to utter a visual sentence you need to know what the words are.

    Such knowledge will, overall, make you a more reflective photographer, e.g. street photographer.

    Anyway, that is the way I see it.

    Have a good day :-). Saturday it is.

  4. #4 by mario mancuso on December 1, 2012 - 10:09 pm

    wonderful shot

    • #5 by Knut Skjaerven on December 2, 2012 - 10:52 am

      Many thanks Mario. I am honoured :-). Have a good day.

Leave a Reply

